• Home
  • MN National Outstanding Assistant Principal

MN National Outstanding Assistant Principal Award

The National Association of Elementary School Principals and MESPA are committed to preparing assistant principals to step into the principal role. We honor PreK-8 assistant principals who are doing a superb job in their roles. This program promotes educational excellence for pre-kindergarten through eighth grade (PreK-8) schooling and calls attention to the fundamental importance of the assistant principal. The award recipient will receive a FREE registration to NAESP's annual conference and be recognized at the conference. 

Eligible Candidates for the Award: Candidate is a member of MESPA and NAESP and must maintain membership through June 30, 2020, be an active assistant principal, has been an active assistant principal for at least two years, and will be an active assistant principal at time of nomination. Applicant must contribute to the well-being of the educational community. Applicant must contribute to a positive and motivating environment for others. Applicant must have a strong record of service (in both school and community) and be recognized as a leader. Applicant must exhibit exceptional leadership in a particular school program and/or is heavily involved in finding a solution to a problem faced by the school.

Application Period now closed 

Watch for the nomination form and application materials in late-summer or early fall. If you have any questions, please contact Amy Thompson at amy@mespa.net.

Congratulations to MN's 2019 NAESP National Outstanding Assistant Principal: John Awsumb

“I have never in my 25 years in education nominated someone for an award of this caliber, but I felt compelled to do so in regards to my assistant principal, John Awsumb,” wrote Diane Morin, principal of Bay View Elementary School, in her letter of recommendation for Awsumb. “He is truly one of the best administrators I have ever had the privilege to work with. His enthusiasm and positive attitude are contagious. One of his greatest strengths is his ability to communicate in difficult situations. He has the unique ability to validate what someone is saying and then work together with them to come up with a solution. He is never defensive and has the innate sense to react the right way in all situations. Our school culture has become so much more positive since he has arrived at our school. Students, parents, and our community have embraced him and he is a total game-changer for our district.”

Awsumb’s work creating and implementing a multiple-tiered system of Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS) is one of his most significant accomplishments at Bay View Elementary, which serves approximately 600 students in grades PreK-5. The implementation of PBIS has drastically reduced behavior referrals and contributed to a positive and vibrant school community. “Our students understand our behavioral expectations, and they continue to use our mantra of Appropriate, Safe, and Kind (ASK) to guide themselves throughout the day,” Awsumb writes. “Parents are fully informed of the interventions and appreciate the results that [the interventions] have on their children.” The interventions provide students with “a platform to share their coping strategies with their peers, as well as building positive relationships with one another.”

Click here to read John's full press release

Previous recipients of the award were Tracy Sexton-Oliver (2018), Sara Schmidt (2017), Margo Kleven (2016), Christen Hull (2015), Michelle Rosen (2014), Toni Beckler (2013), and Frank Catchings, Jr. (2012).

MESPA is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization

1970 Oakcrest Avenue, Suite 204
Roseville, Minnesota, 55113
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software