Members Only
Best Practices
Business Partners
Colleague to Colleague
Contact Us
Division News
Legal Services
Legislative Advocacy
MN Bullying Prevention Initiative & Bookstore
PreK-3 Alignment
Press Room
Professional Development
Resources for Principal Leadership
Twenty-Five Year Club
25 Year Club becomes RPM (Retired Principals of MESPA)

What is RPM?   
It is the acronym for The Retired Principals of MESPA. It reflects the name change from 25 Year Club and minor changes in the bylaws that were approved by membership at the MESPA Institute February 5, 2014.
Why the changes?  
Increasingly, retired principals are staying active and looking for ways to contribute to the field of education.  As the numbers of retired principals continue to grow each year, it is perceived that the purpose of the group should be more defined, focused and visible.   Thus, the intent of the changes is to:

  • Reflect a broader, more enhanced purpose for the group.
  • Enhance our communication with MESPA and
  • Serve as an active and vital resource to MESPA, i.e. assisting and volunteering in a variety of ways such as special projects, mailings etc...

How things are the same and what is different? 

The 25 Year Club infrastructure remains intact and consists of four important components for operating as RPM.

  • First, we will continue to have four meetings a year with social events, speakers, and many opportunities for networking. 
  • Secondly, we will continue to recognize principals who have 25 years of service (10 yrs. as a principal, 15 yrs. as a teacher or other education position) with a 25 Year Service Award given at the Institute.
  • Third, we will continue to annually recognize outstanding contributions to education through a Distinguished Service to Education Award.
  • Fourth,  there is a  continual option to maintain MESPA and RPM Membership.

2014-2015 RPM Membership Dues

This spring you will receive a membership letter from MESPA.  As a retired principal, you can maintain your MESPA membership for $42, with many benefits. Additionally, there will be a letter and envelope from RPM requesting local dues of $10.00, which defray the cost of supplies, printing, postage, speaker fees, and other items.  We look forward to connecting with you through your active membership in both MESPA and RPM.

RPM local dues can be paid directly to:
Bob Lundberg, Treasurer, 3515 Glen Oaks, Ave., White Bear Lake, MN 55110-5661.

Have you been in education for 25 years?
Let us know! RPM will recognize principals who have 25 years of service (10 years as a principal, 15 years as a teacher or other education position) with a 25 Year Service Award given at the Institute.

25 Year Club Annual Meeting and Social, Feb 5,  2014.
The annual 25 Year Club social was held at Institute 2014 (DoubleTree by Hilton, Bloomington) at 3:00 p.m. in Plaza 1.  The 2014 new members were inducted into the 25 Year Club:
Gary Anger, Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan
Kathy Antilla, Hibbing
Michael Guthrie, Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan
Patti Haasch, Cass Lake-Bena
Cheryl Kortuem, Anoka-Hennepin
Jayne Ropella, St. Paul
Sheri Rutar, St. Cloud
Fred Storti, MESPA executive director from 2002 - 2013, was our recipient of the Distinguished Service to Education Award!

Retired Principal Position on the MESPA Board of Directors

A proposal by the 25 Year Club to place a retired principal on the MESPA Board of Directors was approved at the Annual Meeting on February 8, 2013. Jim Hoogheem, retired principal from Fernbrook Elementary School in the Osseo school district, was elected by his retired peers for the first two-year term.  He will begin serving his term on July 1.  Jim, the Minnesota National Distinguished Principal for 2003, has volunteered his services to MESPA many times over the years.  He was the president–elect and president of North Suburban division from 1997-1999. The next year Jim was asked to serve as the chair of the Educational Advisory Committee, a position he held until he retired in 2005.  Congratulations, Jim, and welcome to the Board!

Get Acrobat Reader  Meeting_Agenda_4.24.14.pdf  
Schedule of 2013-2014 Twenty-Five Year Club meetings, with a special letter of invitation to the September meeting.
Download an application form here
Get Acrobat Reader  ConstitutionRev09.pdf  
The Constitution of the 25 Year Club was amended at the November 12, 2009 meeting.

MESPA Volunteers

Dr. David K. Abrahamson, 2009 Honors


Meeting Dates?
Sept. 26, 2013
Nov. 21, 2013
Feb. 5, 2014
Scroll to the PDF below for complete meeting information.

Licensure CEUs from SORLA: June 17-20, 2013.
We all need to pursue continuing education to be able to seek relicensure in Minnesota: 125 continuing education units (CEUs). Of those, we need CEUs in five specific areas:  behavior, accommodation/modification, reading, mental health, and technology. South of the River Learning Academy (SORLA) will be offering these and other sessions at their Driven to Learn Conference, June 17-20, 2013 — in Lakeville. Register opens March 25. For full details, visit SORLA.

2014 Outstanding Contributions to Education Award
Honored this year for his outstanding contributions to education:

P. Fred Storti, MESPA Executive Director, 2002 - 2013

Thank you to our MESPA volunteers

25 Year Club President
Jeanne Eisenbarth

25 Year Club Officers
Effective April 2013

Jeanne Eisenbarth,  President
Randy Mediger, President-Elect
Tim Case, Past President
Willie Jackson, Secretary
Bob Lundberg, Treasurer
Michele Brouse, Membership
Dave Abrahamson, Volunteer Coordinator

For photos from the 25 Year Club Social
at MESPA Institute 2012, click here and scroll down.

2013 Honorees Jim Hoogheem and Byron Schwab
Jim Hoogheem and Byron Schwab share the honor for the 2013 outstanding recipients of the 25 Year Club award, Distinguished Service to Educators.

Jim and Byron will be recognized on February 6 at the annual 25 Year Club Social during MESPA Institute 2013, beginning at 3:00 p.m. 

Jim retired from Fernbrook Elementary School in the Osseo district in 2005.  Byron retired in 2007 as principal at Pilot Knob Elementary School in the West St. Paul-Mendota Heights-Eagan school district.  Both Jim and Byron have served the board of the 25 Year Club as president and past president of the group.  Congratulations to you both and thank you for your service.

(Clilck on the link at left to see the agenda for the February 6 meeting.)

Twenty-Five Year Club Revised Consitution

The Constitution of the 25 Year Club was amended at the November 12, 2009 meeting. Revisions were introduced at the meeting and, as required by the Constitution, a majority of members present voted to accept the proposed changes.  

The major changes are:

1.  Two more positions were added to the board:  Membership/Communications Chair and Volunteer Coordinator. Because the Club members in these positions have worked closely with Board members the last few years, it was decided to add the positions to the Board.

2.  The term of officers was changed from two years to one year. The shorter term will give more members the opportunity for leadership roles.

3.  There were minor changes in language that updated the 2002 revision.

Please see the Revised Constitution PDF to the left for a copy.