Members Only
Best Practices
Business Partners
Colleague to Colleague
Contact Us
Division News
Legal Services
Legislative Advocacy
MN Bullying Prevention Initiative & Bookstore
PreK-3 Alignment
Press Room
Professional Development
Resources for Principal Leadership
Retired Principals of MESPA
Minnesota Blue Ribbon Schools, 2010

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan has recognized 304 schools as 2010 National Blue Ribbon Schools. The schools—254 public and 50 private—include four led by MESPA members:  Greenwood Elementary School, Plymouth (Brad Gustafson), Lewiston-Altura Elementary School (Dave Riebel), Parkview Center School (Kristen Smith Olson), and Southwest Elementary School (Ken Decoster). All schools will be honored at an awards ceremony Nov. 15-16 in Washington, D.C. 

The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle level, and high schools that are either high performing or have improved student achievement to high levels, especially among disadvantaged students.

In the past 28 years, more than 6,000 of America's schools have received this  award. "Our nation has a responsibility to help all children realize their full potential," Duncan said.  "Schools honored with the Blue Ribbon Schools award are committed to achievement and to ensuring that students learn and succeed. Their work reflects the conviction that every child has promise and must receive a quality education."

For more information, visit the MESPA Press Room.